INTERNET JEWISH RESOURCES FOR HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARIES

Created by Diane Romm--June 20, 2004

Last Updated--February 16, 2017

Anti-Semitism Art Basic Judaism Biographies Dictionaries Divrei Torah
Encyclopedias Guidance Halacha Hebrew Literature Holocaust Israel Today
Jewish Communities General Jewish History American Jewish History Israeli History Jewish Texts (Tanach & Talmud) Journal Indexes
Maps Music News from Israel Newspapers Prayer Professional Collection

Your local public library has many resources for secular studies that you can access from home. 

Check here to see if your public library is listed. 

ANTI-SEMITISM

SICSA - Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism-- http://sicsa.huji.ac.il/

Stephen Roth Institute for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism and Racism-- http://humanities1.tau.ac.il/roth/

The Pipeline of Hatred--http://www.conceptwizard.com/info-files/pipeline_of_hatred.html

NEW Map of Antisemitic Acts Worldwide - http://global100.adl.org/

 

ART

Israel Art Guide-- http://www.israelartguide.co.il

Israeli Art Center -- http://www.imj.org.il/artcenter

NEW Bezalel Narkiss Index of Jewish Art - http://cja.huji.ac.il/browser.php

 

BASIC JUDAISM

Jew FAQ--http://www.jewfaq.org

Jewish Literacy from Aish HaTorah--http://aish.com/literacy/

 

BIOGRAPHIES

International Jewish Sports Hall of Fame-- http://www.jewishsports.net/BioPages/Tables/LastNameSearch.htm

Torah Commentators-- http://www.torahproductions.com/commentators.html

Biographies of Tzadikim-- http://www.nehora.com/pages/Tzadikim.html

Biographies of Gedolim--http://www.chaburas.org/

NEW Biographies of People in Tanach - http://www.tanakhprofiles.org/

NEW Biographies of Famous Rabbis - https://www.ou.org/judaism-101/bios/

NEW Biographies of Famous Jews - http://www.jewishbiography.com/

NEW Jewish Nobel Prize Winners - http://www.nobel.bh.org.il/en/


DICTIONARIES

Hebrew Abbreviations--http://library.princeton.edu/departments/tsd/katmandu/hebrew/open.html

Hebrew Acronyms and Abbreviations--http://www.abbreviations.com/acronyms/HEBREW

Dictionary of Hebrew Acronyms and Abbreviations -- http://www.kizur.co.il/home.php

Glossary of Yiddish Expressions-- http://www.pass.to/glossary/Default.htm

Yiddish Dictionary Online--http://www.yiddishdictionaryonline.com/

Morfix Hebrew Dictionary--http://milon.morfix.co.il/MorDictFirstPage.htm

Hebrew Aphorisms--http://lib.cet.ac.il/pages/glossary.asp?item=16

Hebrew Expressions--http://lib.cet.ac.il/pages/glossary.asp?item=21

Learn Hebrew Verbs--http://www.hebrew-verbs.co.il/

Hebrew-English, English-Hebrew Dictionaries-- http://www.babylon.com/define/106/Hebrew-Dictionary.html

Jastrow Dictionary for Talmudic and Midrashic Literature-- http://www.tyndalearchive.com/tabs/jastrow/

Learn Hebrew Signs -- http://www.learn-hebrew-signs.com/


DIVREI TORAH

Shamash Divrei Torah-- http://shamash.org/tanach/dvar.shtml

Bible quizzes from Jewish Bible Association-- http://www.jewishbible.org/bible-quizzes/

Nehama Leibovitz's Iyunim and Gilyonot in English--http://www.jewishagency.org/JewishAgency/English/Jewish+Education/Compelling+Content/Jewish+Time/Jewish+Sources/Iyunum/

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Jewish Virtual Library-- http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/

Jewish Encyclopedia-- http://www.jewishencyclopedia.com/

Jewish Encyclopedia in Russian-- http://www.eleven.co.il

Daat Encyclopedia in Hebrew-- http://www.daat.co.il/encyclopedia/index.asp

Ynet Encyclopedia in Hebrew (full text requires subscription)-- http://www.ynet.co.il/home/0,7340,L-1361,00.html

Encyclopedia of Jewish Wisdom-- http://www.jewish-wisdom.com/

YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe -- http://www.yivoencyclopedia.org

Encylopedia of the Founders and Builders of Israel -- http://www.tidhar.tourolib.org/

Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia -- http://jwa.org/encyclopedia

NEW Zissel Encyclopedia of Kivrei Tzadikim - http://www.zissil.com/topics/Category:Kivray-Tzadikim
 

GUIDANCE

 Hillel's Guide to Jewish Life on Campus-- http://www.hillel.org/HillelApps/JLOC/Search.aspx

Directory of Jewish Camps -- http://www.jewishcamp.org/

Birthright Israel--http://www.birthrightisrael.com

Crisis or Challenge: A Guide to Bereavement,  Stress, and Modern Day Terror-- http://www.crisis.org.il

Directory of Jewish Day Schools in North America -- http://www.lookstein.org/school_database.htm

NEW Guide to Programs in Israel from Yeshiva University - https://www.yu.edu/israel-program/gis

NEW Guide to Programs in Israel from Touro College - https://las.touro.edu/admissions--aid/israel-option/

NEW Study Abroad in Israel - http://www.masaisrael.org/programs/


HALACHA

Halacha World Center-- http://www.halacha.net

Jewish Law-- http://www.jlaw.com

Index to Halachic Topics-- http://www.halachabrura.org/s-index.htm

Halacha Brura and Birur Halacha Institute-- http://www.halachabrura.org/

Shulchan Aruch in English--Orach Chayim and Yoreh De'ah--http://torah.org/advanced/shulchan-aruch/

Tshuvos.com--http://tshuvos.com/


 

HEBREW LITERATURE

Hebrew Literature-- http://www.benyehuda.org

Poetry and Prose of Yehudah HaLevi-- http://www.angelfire.com/ct/halevi/index.html

Uri Zvi Greenberg-- http://www.uri-zvi-greenberg.org

Medieval Hebrew Poetry -- http://www.medievalhebrewpoetry.org/

Bio-Bibliography of Modern Hebrew Literature--http://library.osu.edu/projects/hebrew-lexicon/index.htm


HOLOCAUST

Cybrary of the Holocaust-- http://remember.org/

Holocaust Chronicle-- http://www.holocaustchronicle.org

The Holocaust Resource Project-- http://www.holocaust.co.il

Jewish Resistance During the Holocaust -- https://www.ushmm.org/wlc/en/article.php?ModuleId=10005213

YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe -- http://www.yivoencyclopedia.org

NEW Jewish Partisans - http://www.jewishpartisans.org/


 

ISRAEL TODAY

Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs-- http://www.mfa.gov.il/MFA

Background Notes-- http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/3581.htm

CIA World Factbook on Israel-- https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/is.html

Israel's National Parksóhttp://www.parks.org.il


 

JEWISH COMMUNITIES WORLDWIDE

Jewish Communities of the World-- http://www.worldjewishcongress.org/en/communities

Kulanu-- http://www.kulanu.org

Centropa-- http://www.centropa.org

Hidden Jewish Communities -- http://www.shavei.org/

NEW Jewish Communities Around the World - http://www.haruth.com/jw/

NEW Beit HaTefutzot Database of Jewish Communities - http://dbs.bh.org.il/search?collection=places


JEWISH HISTORY, GENERAL

Internet Jewish History Sourcebook-- http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/jewish/jewishsbook.html

This Day in Jewish History--http://www.ou.org/about/judaism/bhyom/

Dinur Center for Jewish History-- http://jewishhistory.huji.ac.il/index.htm

Haruth Communications Jewish History Site-- http://www.haruth.com/Jewish/JewishHistory.html

Jewish History Timeline-- http://www.jewishhistory.org.il/

Center for Online Jewish Studies--http://www.cojs.org/

Jewish History Timeline -- http://www.odyeda.com/English/JewishTimeline.html


JEWISH HISTORY, AMERICAN 

Jewish Heroes and Heroines in America-- http://seymourbrody.com/index.htm

Jewish-American History of the 19th Century-- http://www.jewish-history.com/Default.htm

Jewish American Hall of Fame-- http://www.amuseum.org/jahf/

From Haven to Home:  The Library of Congress Exhibit on Jewish Life in America--http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/haventohome/

Jews in America --http://www.jewsinamerica.org/

American Jewish Yearbooks--http://www.ajcarchives.org/main.php?GroupingId=40

American Jewish Heritage Portal --http://www.jewishheritage.gov/

Database of Early American Jews -- http://loebjewishportraits.com/

NEW Jewish American Heritage Month - http://www.jewishheritagemonth.gov/
 

JEWISH HISTORY, ISRAELI

National Photo Collection-- http://147.237.72.31/topsrch/abcole.htm

Etzel:  The History of the Irgun-- http://www.etzel.org.il

Hagana-- http://www.irgon-haagana.co.il/

Palmach -- http://www.palmach.org.il/Web/English/Default.aspx

First Photos of The Land of Israel--http://www.eretzyisroel.org/~dhershkowitz/index.html

Zionist Library--http://www.reocities.com/Vienna/6640/zion/

Fact and Fantasy in the Middle East by Samuel Katz--http://www.eretzyisroel.org/~samuel/index.html

From Time Immemorial by Joan Peters--http://www.eretzyisroel.org/~peters/index.html

Toldot Yisrael: Eyewitness to 1948 -- http://www.toldotyisrael.org

Encylopedia of the Founders and Builders of Israel -- http://www.tidhar.tourolib.org/

The Palestine Post -- http://web.nli.org.il/sites/jpress/english/Pages/palestine-post.aspx

Zionism 101 in Videos -- http://zionism101.org/k_courses.aspx

The Six Day War -- http://sixdaywar.co.uk/

NEW History of Zionism - http://mfa.gov.il/MFA/AboutIsrael/History/Zionism/Pages/default.aspx

NEW Photographs of Early Israel - http://meitarcollection.co.il/?language=english

NEW Newsreels from Early Israel - http://www.jer-cin.org.il/Archive/Axelrode%20Collection.aspx


JEWISH TEXTS

Hypertext Versions of Jewish Classical Texts--http://kodesh.snunit.k12.il

Interactive Views of Classical Jewish Texts--http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~elsegal/TalmudPage.html

Jewish Texts from Wikisource--http://he.wikisource.org/wiki/%D7%90%D7%A8%D7%95%D7%9F_%D7%94%D7%A1%D7%A4%D7%A8%D7%99%D7%9D_%D7%94%D7%99%D7%94%D7%95%D7%93%D7%99

The Bar Ilan Responsa Project (searching is free) --  http://www.responsa.co.il/default.aspx?action=advancedSearch!yes

NEW Sefaria: Open Source Library of Jewish Texts -- http://www.sefaria.org/


TANACH

Navigating the Torah--http://bible.ort.org/books/torahd5.asp?ACTION=displayid&id=7

Navigating the Haftorot -- http://bible.ort.org/books/haftarotd4.asp

Rashi in English-- http://www.rashiyomi.com

Search the Chumash--http://www.mnemotrix.com/texis/vtx/chumash

Mikranet--http://mikranet.cet.ac.il/pages/frontpage.asp

US Chidon HaTanach--https://chidonusa.wordpress.com/

Bible quizzes from Jewish Bible Association -- http://www.jewishbible.org/bible-quizzes/

Bible Quiz Database--http://www.bible-quiz.co.il/

Tanach Navigator--http://www.tora.us.fm/tnk1/index.html

Biblical Atlas--http://lib.cet.ac.il/pages/atlasBible.asp

Tanach with Rashi -- http://www.chabad.org/library/bible_cdo/aid/63255/jewish/The-Bible-with-Rashi.htm

NEW HaTanakh - http://www.hatanakh.com/en


TALMUD

Web Shas--http://www.aishdas.org/webshas/index.shtml

Hamakor--http://www.hamakor.org/

E-daf.com-- http://www.e-daf.com/

Daf Yomi Advancement Forum-- http://dafyomi.shemayisrael.co.il/

Yerushalmi Online-- http://www.yerushalmionline.org/

Index to Commentaries on Aggadot of the Talmud-- http://www.halachabrura.org/a-index.htm

Maharsho-- http://www.maharsho.com/

Seforim Online-- http://www.seforimonline.org/

HebrewBooks.org--http://www.hebrewbooks.org

 Aggadot -- http://agadastories.org.il/

NEW Steinsalz Talmud - http://www.sefaria.org/texts/Talmud


RAMBAM

Index to Commentaries on the Mishneh Torah of the Rambam-- http://www.halachabrura.org/e-mavorambam.htm

Moreh Nevuchim in English - http://www.sacred-texts.com/jud/gfp/gfp003.htm

 

JOURNAL AND NEWSPAPER INDEXES

RAMBI-- http://www.jnul.huji.ac.il/rambi/

Historical Jewish Press -- http://web.nli.org.il/sites/jpress/english/Pages/default.aspx 

Index to Hebrew Language Israeli Newspapers -- http://ariela.tau.ac.il/F/?func=file&file_name=find-b&local_base=szc01

RAMBISH: Hebrew Language Judaica articles -- http://www.rambish.org.il

Digital Archives of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency -- http://www.jta.org/jta-archive/archive-page

 

MAPS

Maps of the Middle East-- http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/middle_east.html

Maps of Israel-- http://www.emap.co.il

Ancient Maps of Jerusalem-- http://www.jnul.huji.ac.il/dl/maps/jer/html/gallery.html

MidEast Web Maps-- http://www.mideastweb.org/maps.htm

Eye on Israel--http://www.eyeonisrael.com

The Size of Israel--http://www.sizeofisrael.com/

NEW Israel in Maps - http://lib.cet.ac.il/Pages/geography.asp

NEW Historical Atlas of Israel - http://lib.cet.ac.il/Pages/atlas.asp



MUSIC

Jewish Music Web Center-- http://www.jmwc.org/

Milken Archive-- http://www.milkenarchive.org

Jewish Theatre-- http://www.jewish-theatre.com/

Hebrew Songs--http://www.hebrewsongs.com/

Israeli Dance Database--http://www.israelidances.com/search.asp

Zemer Reshet -- http://www.zemereshet.co.il/

Guitar Chords for Jewish Songs -- http://www.jewishguitarchords.com/fulllist.php

NEW Jewish Music Sound and Song Archive - http://web.nli.org.il/sites/nli/english/music/Pages/default.aspx

 

NEWS FROM ISRAEL

Israeli News Now-- http://www.israelinewsnow.com

Israel News.net-- http://israelnews.net/

 

NEWSPAPERS

American Jewish Press Association-- http://www.ajpa.org/


PRAYER

Learners' Minyan-- http://www.webjew.org/

Guide to Blessings for Food--http://www.brochos.com/

Virtual Cantor--http://www.virtualcantor.com

The Piyut Archive-- http://www.piyut.org.il/english/

NEW Torah and Haftorah Chanting - http://www.bar-mitzva.com/kriote.asp

NEW Berachot - http://www.berachot.org/

 

PROFESSIONAL COLLECTION

JESNA:  Jewish Education Service of North America-- http://www.jesna.org

PEJE:  Partnership for Excellence in Jewish Education-- http://www.peje.org/

Lookstein Virtual Resource Center for Jewish Education--  http://www.lookstein.org/library.php

Board of Jewish Education of Greater New York-- http://www.thejewisheducationproject.org/

Board of Jewish Education of Chicago-- http://www.bjechicago.org

Center for Jewish Education of Greater Baltimore-- http://www.cjebaltimore.org

Bureau of Jewish Education of Greater Los Angeles-- http://www.bjela.org

Bureau of Jewish Education of Greater Boston-- http://www.bje.org/

Jewish Education Center of Cleveland--http://www.jecc.org

Bronfman Jewish Education Centre of Montreal--http://www.bjec.org/

Centre for Jewish Education of Toronto--http://cjetoronto.com

Agency for Jewish Education in San Diego--http://www.ajesd.org

Associated Talmud Torahs of Chicago -- http://www.att.org/

Solomon Schechter Day School Association-- http://www.ssdsa.org/

Ptach--http://www.ptach.org

Guide to Selected Jewish Online Resources-- http://www.nmmc.net/Guide/Links.html

E-chinuch-- http://www.chinuch.org/

Nurit Reshef-- http://www.ualberta.ca/~yreshef/nuritmenu.htm

Holocaust Teacher's Resource Guide--http://www.holocaust-trc.org/

AJL New Values Finder-- http://jewishlibraries.org/content.php?page=Jewish_Values_Finder

Smart Board Jewish Educational Database -- http://www.legacyheritage.org/SJED/

Jewish Portal of Teacher Education -- http://jtec.macam.ac.il/portal/

RavSak -- http://www.ravsak.org/

Online Catalog of Jewish Day School Libraries - http://avichai.calypso.scoolaid.net/bin/home

NEW Resources for Teaching about Israel - http://www.learnisrael.org/


PROFESSIONAL MATERIALS IN HEBREW

Akhlah-- http://www.akhlah.com

Arachim-- http://www.arachim.org/

Daat-- http://www.daat.ac.il/

Navat Educational Library from Snunit-- http://navat.snunit.k12.il/

Amal Net-- http://www.amalnet.k12.il

Center for Technology in Education Library--http://lib.cet.ac.il/pages/frontpage.asp

Hebrew Wikisource: Open Digital Library --http://he.wikisource.org/wiki/%D7%A2%D7%9E%D7%95%D7%93_%D7%A8%D7%90%D7%A9%D7%99

 

 This site was created by Diane Romm for use by Avi Chai Bookshelf high school libraries